Health Food Warriors?

This past weekend was lovely–I spent it visiting some great friends. You know the thing about great friends (besides the fact you can disappear off the face of the earth for months at a time and they still love you)? It’s that you can talk about ANYTHING.

This particular group of ladies has worked to shepherd me through almost two decades of bad hair decisions, soapbox rants and major life events.

This particular group of ladies has worked to shepherd me through almost two decades of bad hair decisions, soapbox rants and major life events. We’re missing a few, but you get the picture.

This weekend, the topic of conversation: healthy food.

Please let me be clear, I’m not, nor will I ever be, a health food fanatic. I love butter, carbs, sugar, you name it! These things will not be struck from my diet, purely for the fact I am a weak person. Yep, I’m weak. As it turns out, food and I have a love affair that has spanned almost 32 years.

However, I do understand the concept that eating better = feeling better. My friends do as well, hence the conversation topic of the weekend. From quinoa to coconut oil, chia seeds to spaghetti squash, we threw out suggestions and opinions. We talked for hours, and after we talked, we shopped. In Hy-Vee. At 10:00 p.m., and had a hell of a time.

Coconut oil and chia seeds found!

Coconut oil and chia seeds found!

Walking through the grocery store with a food scientist, athletic trainer, grain merchandiser and photographer is similar to listening to one of those crazy “mash-up” songs which were so popular last fall.

  • “Don’t buy that, the ingredients are exactly the same as what’s in the regular section. It’s just marketing.”
  • “I wonder how the pricing will change for this later this fall?”
  • “Hmm, that might be a decent alternative for after a work-out.”
  • “I know it’s the same thing, but this product won the packaging game.”

We literally combed that store from one end to the other, and found some other interesting products:

I believe the quote here was: "If you put me on an island with no food, I don't think I would eat that."

I believe the quote here was: “If you put me on an island with no food, I don’t think I would eat that.”

My thought: "What the hell is this?!?" Sara Jane's power of Google courtesy of her smart phone determined it's a "Vietnamese fruit."

My thought: “What the hell is this?!?” Sara Jane’s power of Google courtesy of her smart phone determined it’s a “Vietnamese fruit.”

This is a little more my speed...

This is a little more my speed…

As are these. Ha! Brilliant!

As are these. Ha! Brilliant!

As far as a weekend goes it was a little unconventional, but AWESOME.

Food blogs, phone apps, etc. don’t motivate me. I do a really good job of reading them (usually while eating cake), and a miserable job of following their direction. However, there’s nothing like old friends to make you toe the proverbial “line.”

A little #TBT...remember when we used to actually spend TIME getting ready to "go out"? ;)

A little #TBT…remember when we used to actually spend TIME getting ready to “go out”? 😉

 

In any case, peer pressure is working:

This was my breakfast this morning. "Breakfast Quinoa," was pretty good!

This was my breakfast this morning. “Breakfast Quinoa,” was pretty good!

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Health Food Warriors?

  1. I’m actually wearing the same necklace you have on in your #tbt photo…..does that mean I’m out of style? 😉 Let me know if you try the chia seeds, been considering them, but they are so dang expensive!

    • I like the chia seeds, but they do have a unique flavor. I like the milled seeds instead of the whole ones. I think the Dole variety was on-sale at Hy-Vee earlier this week. Around $6! And you are most certainly ALWAYS in-style and fabulous, Sam! How do you like the new blog format?

Leave a Reply

